Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Oronsaye Report: FG to scrap FRCN, VON, NCDC, ICRC, 9 other agencies


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

President Bola Tinubu has ordered the full implementation of Oronsaye Committee Report on the merger and scrapping of some agencies of government for efficiency and cost-cutting measures.

The order was given after the Federal Executive Council (FEC) meeting held today, February 26, 2024.

The decision was taken in order to enhance efficiency in the Federal service, and trims down the overbloated governance.

The implementation of the report will involve the restructuring and rationalisation of Federal agencies, parastatals and commissions.

Also, the implementation will see the merging, subsuming and complete scrapping of agencies with related functions.

Recall that Oronsaye report was submitted in 2012 to the administration of Goodluck Jonathan. In 2014, Jonathan’s government released a white paper on the report.

Subsequently, Buhari’s administration after re-examining the white paper also released a second white paper in August 2022, but failed to implement the report.

Meanwhile, in what appears to be a departure from the status-quo, President Tinubu’s administration against all odds, has decided to cut down the high cost of governance by accepting to implement the report.

To show its level of commitment, an eight-man committee has been set up for the task and it has a 12-week time frame to ensure that the necessary legislative amendments and administrative restructuring needed to implement the reforms were done in an efficient manner.

The committee is made up of Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Head of the Civil Service, Attorney General and Justice Minister, Budget and Planning Minister, DG Bureau of Public Service Reform, Special Adviser to the President on Policy Coordination, Special assistant to the president on National Assembly. The Cabinet Affairs Office will serve as the secretariat.

13 government agencies are to be scrapped after the restructuring and merging.

These agencies are:

National Salaries, Income and Wages Commission to be subsumed under Revenue Mobilisation and Fiscal Commission (RMAFC).

The National Assembly will need to amend the constitution as RMAFC was established by the 1999 constitution.

Infrastructure Concession and Regulatory Commission (ICRC) to be merged with Bureau of Public Enterprise (BPE) and be changed as Public Enterprises and Infrastructural Concession Commission.

National Human Rights Commission (NHRC) to swallow Public Complaints Commission (PCC).

Pension Transitional Arrangement Directorate (PTAD) to be scrapped and functions to be taken over by Federal Ministry of Finance.

NEMA and National Commission for Refugees to be fused to become National Emergency and Refugee Management Commission
Border Communities Development Agency (BCDA) to become a department under National Boundary Commission (NBC).

NACA and NCDC to be merged.

SERVICOM to become a department under the Bureau for Public Service Reform (BPSR).

NALDA to return to the Ministry of Agriculture and Food Security.

Federal Ministry of Science to supervise a new agency that combines NCAM, NASENI and PRODA.

National Commission for Museums and Monuments and National Gallery of Arts to become one entity that will be known as National Commission for Museums, Monuments and Gallery of Arts.

National Theatre to be merged with National Troupe.

Directorate of Technical Cooperation in Africa and Directorate of Technical Aid Corps to be merged under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Nigerians in Diaspora Commission (NiDCOM) to become an agency under the Ministry of Foreign Affairs.

Federal Radio Corporation of Nigeria (FRCN) and Voice of Nigeria (VON) to be one entity to be known as Federal Broadcasting Corporation of Nigeria.

National Biotechnology Development Agency (NABDA) and National Centre for Genetic Resources and Biotechnology to be emerged into an agency to be known as National Biotechnology Research and Development Agency (NBRDA).

National Institute for Leather Science Technology and National Institute for Chemical Technology to become one agency.

Nigeria Natural Medicine Development Agency and National Institute of Pharmaceutical Research and Development to become one agency.

The National Metallurgical Development Centre and National Metallurgical Training Institute will be merged.

National Institute for Trypanosomiasis to be subsumed under Institute of Veterinary Research in Vom, Jos, Plateau State.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.