Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Onakoya breaks Guinness World Record for longest chess marathon

120

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Renowned Nigerian chess master, Tunde Onakoya and his partner, Shawn Martinez on Saturday, set a new Guinness World Record (GWR) for the longest marathon in a chess game.

The duo broke the Guinness World Record for longest chess marathon beating the previous world record set at 56 hours, 9 minutes and 37 seconds by Norwegians Hallvard Haug Flatebø and Sjur Ferkingstad in 2018.

Onakoya who disclosed this via his official X handle, noted that despite setting a new record, they are still pushing for the 60 hour mark.

The chess master said he is using the Guinness world record attempt as a means to raise $1 million to support children in underprivileged communities across Africa with access to education.

He said, “We have done it.

“We’re pushing to 60 hours guys. We’re not stopping yet. Let’s keep going.

“We have a fundraising goal to meet for the education of African children around the world. This is our why – the reason we are doing this.

“Let’s demonstrate to the world the incredible power of love. Together, we can make this happen.”

Onakoya surpassed this record at 7:39pm EST (12:39am WAT) clocking 56 minutes, 10 minutes, since the chess marathon began at 11:30am EST (4:30pm WAT) on Wednesday April 17, 2024

Meanwhile, through his non-profit, Chess in Slums Africa and charity organisation The Gift of Chess, Onakoya has been able to raise over $81,000 with generous contributions from individuals and organisations.

His world record ambition has been widely recognised by supportive individuals and millions of Nigerians worldwide who continue to cheer him on to hit the 58-hour mark.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.