Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Ngor Okpala Bye-election: INEC disqualifies APC for fielding two candidates

By Clement Owuama


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.


The Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, has slammed disqualification on the ruling All Progressives Congress, APC, from participating in the Ngor Okpala bye-election slated for today.

A statement by the Commission in Owerri on Saturday noted that the APC has breached extant electoral law by fielding two candidates, namely Blyden Amajirionwu and Lawrence Achinihu.


Blyden Amajirionwu


Lawrence Achinihu


“The disqualification of the APC from today’s bye-election in Ngor followed a painstaking review of the circumstances surrounding the nomination of Blyden Amajirionwu and Lawrence Achinihu, both of whom have been submitted to the Commission as candidates of the same party for the same bye-election.”

When contacted, the State Chairman of the APC, Macdonald Ebere, said the party has reviewed the decision of the INEC and has ordered all party faithful in Ngor Okpala to immediately boycott the election, as the decision of the INEC will be challenged in court.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.