Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Meet Sam Carling the new youngest MP in UK, born in 2002


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

History was made on Friday in the just concluded election in the United Kingdom after a 22-year-old Sam Carling ousted veteran Conservative MP Shailesh Vara by just 39 votes to win the North West Cambridgeshire seat.

The Cambridge University science graduate student who won his election under the Labour Party called his victory a “political earthquake”, and said he hoped more young people would stand for public office.

“Then they will see themselves represented, both in Parliament and local councils. It will help tackle apathy,” he said

Mr Carling, who has been a councillor in Cambridge, said many voters were surprised to discover he was running for office, but that “people on the doorstep were very positive”.

“They said ‘That’s good, we need more young people’.

“There is a lot of abuse aimed at younger people online, but face-to-face, people are generally thrilled to find out.”

Speaking on his age, Carling said he doesn’t want his age to be a focus.

“I want us to get away from this strange mindset towards younger people’s age. As far as I’m concerned we’re just the same as anyone else. I just want to get on with the job.”

Profile Of Sam Carling:

Sam Carling born in 2002, grew up in a rural town in North East England. He attended Barnard Castle School, an independent boarding school in County Durham, and achieved 5 A* A-Level grades and an EPQ.

He then read natural sciences at Christ’s College, Cambridge, graduating with first-class honours in 2023. While at Cambridge he was a co-chair of the Cambridge University Labour Club. A biomedical scientist, he continued at Christ’s as an MPhil student.

He has served as Member of Parliament for North West Cambridgeshire since 2024.

As a member of the Labour Party, he has represented West Chesterton on the Cambridge City Council since 2022. On his election to parliament in July 2024, he became the youngest MP and first MP to be born in 21st century.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.