Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Edo guber: APC removes Uzodinma as primary election committee chair


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The leadership of the the All Progressive Congress (APC) has removed governor Hope Uzodinma of Imo State as the chairman of the Edo State Governorship Primary Election Committee.

His removal is coming less than 24 hours after APC declared the party’s gubernatorial primary election inconclusive due to conflicting results that produced three different candidates who are now claiming victory.

Uzodimma’s led election committee last weekend had declared Dennis Idahosa, a member of the House of Representatives, as the winner of the primary election.

While Monday Okpebholo was declared the winner by the returning officer at the residence of Pastor Osagie Ize-Iyamu in Benin City, Anamero Sunday Dekeri, the representative of Etsako Federal Constituency in the House of Representatives, was also declared the winner by the spokesman of the local government returning officers, Ojo Babatunde.

Following the conflicting claims made by the various aspirants, the National Working Committee of the ruling party, on Tuesday rescheduled the governorship primary.

The party said it will conclude the exercise in the state on Thursday 22nd of February, 2024.

A decision to this effect was reached on Tuesday night at an emergency meeting of the NWC.

Mr Felix Morka, the spokesman of APC disclosed this development after the NWC meeting that lasted for about three hours.

According to Morka, ”at it a emergency meeting, to consider the report on the Edo State primate election, the NWC of our parry deliberate on the report and resolved that the Edo State governorship election has not been completed and has now fixed Thursday February 22nd 2024 for the completion of the APC Edo State Primary election process.”

Meanwhile, following all the troubles that greeted the entire process, in an amended list provided by the party’s National Organizing Secretary, Sulaiman Muhammad Argungu, the committee will now be chaired by the governor of Cross Rivers state Bassey Otu, while Alh. Rabiu Suleiman will serve as Secretary.

The Party also announced the appointment of Barr. C. C. Udenwa as the chairman Appeals committee.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.