Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Anambra PDP chieftains renounce Ekwunife, says delegates should emerge thru election


Several notable chieftains of the Anambra State chapter of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) has rejected the harmonization meeting call by Senator Uche Ekwunife.

The party chieftains  made the remarks in a Communiqué duly signed by the major aspirants of the various seats in the State, addressed to the National Chairman and the National Organizing Secretary of the party.

Disagreeing with Senator Ekwunife, the party members insisted that delegates should emerge only through a duly conducted election monitored by the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) or through consensus.

Reacting to Ekwunife’s call for harmonization of three man delegates, the group noted that it is clearly against the Electoral Act Section 84(8).

The Communiqué signed by major aspirants in the State, reads:

“We vehemently reject Senator Uche Ekwunife’s call for a meeting with aspirants for harmonization of three (3) man delegates because it’s clearly against the Electoral Act Section 84(8) which state that “A political party that adopts the system of indirect primaries for the choice of its candidate shall clearly outline in its constitution and rule the procedure for the democratic election of delegates to vote at the convention, congress or meeting”.

“Based on this section 84(8) of the Electoral Act, it connects to our party’s constitution and guideline which states clearly that this three man ad hoc delegates shall emerge only through a duly conducted election monitored by INEC or through consensus in which case all aspirants must submit a written letter consenting to that.

“One of the question arising is that if 6 people went and sit down and decide the faith of over 3,000 people that purchased 3 man ad hoc form without their stakeholders being involved, won’t they do anti-party after the primary?

The group, therefore, suggested as follows:

  1. That the 3 man ad hoc delegate election be conducted and monitored by INEC
  2. That the said election be located in the 3 places for crowd control but if any zone decides to merge 2 locations to one, it shall be the insecurity situation in the state.
  3. The idea of excluding stakeholders from the process is not a welcome idea rather the stakeholders should be limited to their area and carried along to avoid anti-party after the candidates emerge.
  4. With all due respect to Senator Uche Ekwunife and Hon. Chuchu Onyema who do not have opponents in the primary election and so do not have anything to worry about. But if she so wishes to do consensus, she should limit herself within her own locality. We therefore submit that they should follow the agreed process as stated in the Party’s Constitution and Guideline, instructed by NWC for an election to be held and monitored by INEC on Tuesday 24th May, 2022.

The group agreed to abide by this rule of law in order to avoid any sort of litigation that may arise if not adhered to.

The Communiqué was signed by Chief. Chris Ubah for Anambra South, Senator Stella Oduah, Anambra North, and Evang. Linus Ukachukwu, on behalf of the following persons:

  1. House of Representatives aspirant for Onitsha North and South
  2. Hon. Obinna Chidoka (Serving House of Representatives aspirant for Idemili North)
  3. Hon. Vincent Ofunelu (serving and House of Reps Aspirant)
  4. Hon. Sopuluchukwu E. Ezeonwuka (Former Rep and House of Representatives aspirant for Orumba North and Orumba South)
  5. Ernest Ezenwa (State House of Assembly Aspirant Aguata 1)
  6. Osondu Madu (State House of Assembly Aguata 2)
  7. Ernest Unigwe (State House of Assembly Nnewi South 1)
  8. Chike Ezechukwu (House of Reps Aspirant for Aguata Federal Constituency)
  9. Mrs. Uche Obi (House of Reps Aspirant)
  10. Princes Niky Onyeri (House of Reps aspirant)
  11. Chinwe Nnabuife (House of Reps 3)
  12. Hon. Romanus Obi (House Reps aspirant)
  13. Hon. TT Okoli (State Assembly aspirant)
  14. Sen. Alphonsus lgbeke
  15. Hon. UK Azodo (former MHR)
  16. Hon. Genevive Ekwechi (State Assembly Aspirant)
  17. Wilfred Chigbo (State Assembly Aspirant Constituency 2)
  18. Sir. Emeka Obi (Immediate Past State Secretary
  19. Joachim Anyiam (Immediate Past Vice Chairman South)
  20. Hon. Okey Okpala (State Exco Member)
  21. Ngozi Agudosi (State Exco member)
  22. Ikemba Ken Emeakayi (Former State Chairman)
  23. Hon. KG Enemou (former Dep. Speaker)
  24. Hon. Obinna Okafor (State Assembly Aspirant)
  25. Ngobidi Divine Onyekachi (State Assembly Member)
  26. Hon. Calista Adimchukwu (State Exco Member)
  27. Barr. Obunike Ohaegbu (former Federal Commissioner)
  28. Hon. Chibuzor Udekigbo (State Assembly Aspirant)

©Copyright 2022 News Band

(If you would like to receive CURRENT NEWS updates from News Band on WhatsApp, join here; for Telegram, join here. If the group is full, send WhatsApp/Telegram message to +234 905 038 2526)

Comments are closed.

%d bloggers like this: