Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Young Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum FCT Branch Elects New Leadership

...As YMLSF Holds Peaceful Biannual Election, Embracing Virtual Voting


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

In a remarkable show of unity and progressiveness, the Young Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum (YMLSF) FCT Branch has successfully elected its new leaders in a peaceful and highly participatory biannual election. The election, which took place today, witnessed an impressive turnout of eligible members, highlighting their commitment to shaping the future of the medical laboratory profession.

Under the guidance of the Electoral Committee (ELECO) Chairman, MLS Oge John Friday, the election process unfolded seamlessly, reflecting the cohesiveness and forward-thinking spirit of the FCT Branch of the Forum.

“I am delighted that this process proceeded flawlessly, indicating that the FCT Branch of the Forum is united and progressive,” expressed Mr. John.

Due to previous directives issued by the Association of Medical Laboratory Scientists of Nigeria (AMLSN), the parent body of the Forum, all affiliate groups were required to suspend their activities until after the forthcoming national Scientific Conference/AGM scheduled to be held in the FCT Branch from 16th to 19th November 2023. Consequently, the election was conducted virtually, with members casting their votes electronically.

During the pre-election briefing, MLS Oge John Friday reiterated Article 15:A vs 4 of the YMLSF By-laws, which stipulated that “Election shall be by open secret or virtual where there is a restriction of movement or physical gathering.”

The newly elected officers and their respective positions are as follows:

– CHAIRMAN: Nwamini Amos Collins
– VICE CHAIRMAN: Dandutse Hajara Tijjani
– SECRETARY: Okeke Blaise Christopher
– PUBLICITY SECRETARY: Igwe Emmanuel Michael
– FINANCIAL SECRETARY: Ikaprite Indoma Igbalibo
– WELFARE: Unanka Ursula C.
– TREASURER: Ibrahim Abdulahi C.
– DIRECTOR OF PROGRAMS: Uzoanya Chidozie Cornel

Out of the 59 members in attendance and accredited for voting, an impressive 56 members actively participated, demonstrating their dedication to shaping the future of the medical laboratory profession. Three members faced network restrictions and were unable to cast their votes, while there was no void vote recorded.

The meeting concluded at 11:00 PM WAT with the Chairman’s acceptance speech, and the swearing-in of the new Executive Officers followed by the dissolution of the Eleco committee. This marks the end of the eventful tenure of the Chukwudi Aleke-led Executive Officers, paving the way for the commencement of Mr. Nwamini Amos-Collin’s regime.

The Young Medical Laboratory Scientists Forum (YMLSF) FCT Branch’s successful election and the commitment of its members to a peaceful and progressive transition holds great promise for the growth and advancement of the medical laboratory profession in Nigeria. With the newly elected leaders at the helm, it is anticipated that the YMLSF will continue to be a beacon of excellence, dedication, and innovation in the field.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.