Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Wike revokes lands in Abuja allocated to Peter Obi, others


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The Minister of the Federal Capital Territory (FCT), Mr. Nyesom Ezenwo Wike, has revoked the ownership of lands in Abuja allocated to the presidential candidate of the Labour Party (LP) in the February 25 election, Mr. Peter Obi, and others.

The minister’s directive was contained in a statement issued yesterday by FCT Permanent Secretary, Olushade Adeshola.

The Permanent Secretary said the measure was taken due to the violation and contravention of the terms of development of the Right of Occupancy.

The statement reads in part: “The Federal Capital Territory Administration (FCTA) hereby informs the general public that the Minister of the Federal Capital Territory, has in the exercise of the powers conferred on him under Section 28 (5) (a) and (b) of the Land Use Act, 1978, revoked the under-listed plots with names and titles as reflected in our records for continued contravention of the terms of development of the Right of Occupancy to wit non-development”.

Besides Peter Obi, many more prominent Nigerians, including former ministers, ex-governors, non-serving senators, top politicians and other categories of highly-placed individuals and firms, who lost the land allocated to them by FCTA in Abuja.

The revocation order was issued through a public notice published in various newspapers as a result of failure to develop property or contravention of relevant laws with 165 properties revoked by the FCTA in this batch.

Others affected include former governors and senators such as former Cross River State Governor Liyel Imok, former Plateau State Governor Joshua Dariye and former Attorney-General of the Federation (AGF) Kanu Agabi (SAN).

Also revoked are properties allocated now deceased former public office holders such as: the late Senator Olabiyi Durojaiye, former Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF) the late Ufot Joseph Ekaette and the late publisher of Leadership newspaper, Sam Nda-Isaiah.

The FCT MinisterWike, had on assuming office, hinted those owners of undeveloped plots and those who violate the city’s Land Use Act, would forfeit ownerships of such land.

The affected properties are scattered all over Abuja, including Utako, Katampe Extension, Idu Industrial Area, Asokoro, Jabi, Wuse, Wuye, Gudu and Maitama.

 Read more.


©Copyright 2023 News Band

(Click here for News Band updates via WhatsApp, or Telegram. For eyewitness accounts/ reports/ articles, write to elstimmy@gmail.com. Follow us on Twitter or Facebook.)

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.