Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Tinubu names new governing councils for varsities, others


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

President Bola Tinubu has appointed over 500 individuals to serve as Pro-chancellors/Chairmen and members of Governing Councils of federal universities, polytechnics and Colleges of Education in the country.

This followed Mr Tinubu’s assent to a list of nominees selected by the Ministry of Education.

The names of the appointees were disclosed in a list made available to newsmen by the Federal Ministry of Education on Saturday.

A deep peep at the list shows that president Tinubu approved the appointment of the former Chairman of the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), Professor Attahiru Jega as Chairman of the governing Council of the Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto, Sokoto State.

Recall that the Academic Staff Union of Universities (ASUU) had earlier threatened to embark on a strike over the government’s refusal to reconstitute the governing councils of public universities.

ASUU had on Tuesday issued a two-week ultimatum within which it demanded the government to do the needful.

Meanwhile, inauguration and retreats for the councils have been scheduled to be held on Thursday, 30th and Friday, 31st May, 2024 at the National Universities Commission (NUC) in Abuja

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.