Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Sierra Leone, Algeria, 2 others elected into UN Security Council


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Sierra Leone and four countries on Tuesday officially began two-year terms on the UN Security Council as non-permanent members.

The four other countries are Algeria, Guyana, the Republic of Korea and Slovenia.

They were elected to serve in June 2023, and they are replacing Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates who ended their terms on 31 December, 2023.

Five permanent members who sit around the iconic horseshoe table in New York are China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom and the United States.

The 10 non-permanent members, selected to provide regional balance, are elected by the General Assembly which is made up of all 193 UN Member States.

France serves as president of the Security Council for the month of January, 2024, and it is expected that the Israel-Palestine crisis and war in Gaza will continue to be a prime focus for ambassadors.

The quarterly open debate on the situation in the Middle East is due to be elevated to ministerial level with the French foreign affairs minister expected to chair the meeting on 23 January.

The Security Council consists of 15 countries, including five permanent members: China, France, Russia, Britain, and the United States.

The permanent members have the right to veto any resolution or decision. The remaining 10 seats are filled by non-permanent members, with five seats subject to renewal each year.

Geographical distribution determines the allocation of these seats, with two seats assigned to the African Group, one to the Asia-Pacific Group, one to the Latin American and Caribbean Group, and one to the Eastern European Group.

To secure a non-permanent seat on the Council, candidates must receive at least two-thirds of the votes in the UN General Assembly, equivalent to 129 votes out of the 193-member body.



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.