Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

PDP wins Taraba guber poll

0 101

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The Independent National Assembly Commission has declared the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, Lt. Col. Kefas Agbu (retd), winner of last Saturday’s governorship election in Taraba State.

Agbu polled a total of 257,926 votes to defeat his closest rival and the candidates of New Nigerian Peoples Party, Prof. Sani Yahaya, who got 202,278, and Senator Emmanuel Bwacha of All Progressives Congress who polled 141,592 votes.

The INEC Returning Officer, Prof. Muhammed Abdulaziz, who declared the results said the PDP candidate won majority votes and satisfied all requirements by law.

Our correspondent reports that the ruling PDP had earlier raised alarm over plans to manipulate the election result following what they called an “unnecessary delay in the declaration”.

Meanwhile, the governor-elect Col Kefas Agbu has described his victory as a triumph of the people’s will.

Agbu who said that the battle was a very tough one noted that in every contest, there was bound to be a winner.

Governor Darius Ishaku in his reaction commended the people of the state for their support for the PDP and called on them to support the incoming governor to deliver on his campaign promises.

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.