Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Niger, Burkina Faso, Mali sign security pact to counter Ecowas


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

Mali, Niger and Burkina Faso, three West African Sahel nations under the control of military juntas, have signed a security pact aimed at countering any rebellion or external aggression against them.

Currently, the three countries are battling to contain Islamist insurgents linked to al-Qaida and the Islamic State group and have also seen their relations with neighbors and international partners strained because of the coups.

Meanwhile, the latest coup in Niger drove a further wedge between the three and countries of the regional bloc, the Economic Community of West African States—ECOWAS, which has threatened to use military action to restore constitutional democracy in the country.

Mali and Burkina Faso have vowed to come to Niger’s aid if it is attacked.

“Any attack on the sovereignty and territorial integrity of one or more contracted parties will be considered an aggression against the other parties,” according to the charter of the pact, known as the Alliance of Sahel States.

It said the other states will assist individually or collectively, including with the use of armed force.

“I have today signed with the Heads of State of Burkina Faso and Niger the Liptako-Gourma charter establishing the Alliance of Sahel States, with the aim of establishing a collective defense and mutual assistance framework,” Mali junta leader Assimi Goita said on X, the social media platform formerly known as Twitter.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.