Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Bill for creation of additional state in S’east passes first reading


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

There could be light at the end of the tunnel for the Southeast region as the bill seeking to create additional state in the region on Thursday, passed first reading on the floor of the House of Representatives.

Currently, Southeast geopolitical zone is the region in Nigeria with five states while others have six and seven respectively.

The bill which seeks the creation of Orlu state is sponsored by Hon. Ikeagwuonu Ugochinyere Imo, who represents Ideato North and South Federal Constituency of Imo State, and co-sponsored by other lawmakers

According to the draft bill, the creation of Orlu State will alter the 1999 Constitution, increasing the number of states in Nigeria from 36 to 37.

Meanwhile, the proposed new state will be carved out from Imo, Abia, and Anambra states, with Orlu as its capital city.

The bill also seeks to amend the 1999 Constitution by inserting a new paragraph, which will include 28 local government areas, namely Orlu, Orsu, Oru West, Oru East, Ideato North, Ideato South, Njaba, Nkwerre, Nwangele, Isu, Oguta, Ohaji Egbema, Onuimo, Ihiala, Uga, Ihiala, Uli, Ozubulu, Akokwa, Arondizuogu, Umuchu, Umunze, Umuaku, New Ideato North, Nwabosi West, Nwabosi East, Owerre Nkworji, Alaoma, Amaifeke, and Owerrebiri Umuowa.

Hon. Ugochinyere, the lead sponsor of the bill, urged his colleagues at the National Assembly to support it so as to ensure its passage through a second reading.

He stated that the creation of Orlu State would lead to the emergence of Ideato as a senatorial district.


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.