Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

Bayelsa guber: Diri wins 3 LGAs as INEC adjourns results collation


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC), on Sunday, adjourned the collation of poll results in the Bayelsa State governorship elections conducted on November 11, 2023.

The collation of results was adjourned about two hours after the commencement of the exercise which was earlier shifted last night.

Prof Faruq Kuta, who is the Vice Chancellor of the Federal University Of Technology, Minna, and the state Returning Officer for the election in Bayelsa adjourned the exercise till 3pm today.

The adjournment was after the collation of results from three of the eight local government areas in the state namely Kolokuma/Opokuma, Ogbia and Yenegoa. The remaining local government areas are Brass, Ekeremor, Nembe, Sagbama, and Southern Ijaw.

The returning officer said results from the remaining local government areas are being expected.

Sixteen political parties sponsored candidates for the election in Bayelsa.

The incumbent governor, Mr Duoye Diri of the Peoples Democratic Party is slugging it out with a former Minister of State For Petroleum Resources, Chief Timipre Sylva.

Sylva, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate in the poll, served as Bayelsa governor from May 2007 to April 2008 and later between May 2008 and January 2012

Below is the results so far from Bayelsa:

Kolokuma/Opokuma LGA

65,364 Number of Registered voters

24171 Accredited Voters

APC – 5349

LP – 22

PDP – 18465

Ogbia LGA (Local Government of former President Goodluck Jonathan) :

Number of Registered voters: 119571

Accredited Voters: 36955

APC – 16319

LP – 57

PDP – 18435

Yenegoa LGA

Number of Registered voters: 218,394

Accredited Voters: 54380

APC – 14534

LP – 244

PDP – 37777

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.