Take a fresh look at your lifestyle.

51st convocation: UNN produces 288 first-class graduates


Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

No fewer than 288 students of the University of Nigeria Nsukka, UNN, will bag first class degrees at the 51st Convocation of the university.

The Vice Chancellor of the University, Prof. Charles Igwe, made the disclosure at a pre convocation press briefing in Enugu on Tuesday.

According to the vice chancellor, 11,444 first degrees of the University would be awarded at the convocation.

“From this number, 288 made First Class Honours, 4,853 and 5,077 graduated with 2nd Class Upper Division and 2nd Class Lower Division respectively while 653 made Third Class, seven Passes, and 616 are Unclassified.

The vice chancellor explained that unclassified degrees were awarded to graduates of some courses, such as medicine, pharmacy and veterinary medicine which were not usually classified into first, second or third class.

“Similarly, a total of 67 diplomas will also be awarded at the convocation and the breakdown is as follows: seven Distinctions, 35 Credits, 22 Merits and three Passes.

“A total of 1,451 postgraduate degrees and diplomas of the University will also be awarded during the convocation, 479 persons will earn the Doctorate Degree while 884 persons will be awarded the Master’s Degrees.

“A total of 88 postgraduate diplomas of the university will also be awarded at the convocation,” Mr Igwe said.

He explained that four prominent Nigerians had also been found deserving of the honorary doctorate degrees of the University.

He said Nneka Onyeali-Ikpe, the Managing Director of Fidelity Bank PLC would be awarded the Doctor of Business Admimistration (Honoris Causa) while Mr Ogbonnaya Onovo, a former Inspector General of Police, would be awarded the degree of Doctor of Public Administration (Honori Causa).

Other awardees, he said, included Major- General J. O. J. Okoloagu (Rtd) and Ugochukwu Weli, both of whom would receive the Honorary Doctorate Degrees in Public Administration (Honoris Causa).

Igwe said that in keeping with its tradition, seven deserving retired professors of the University would be elevated to the distinguished status of Professor Emeritus.

He listed the candidates to include Prof. Virginia Dike and Prof. Eunice Okeke from the Faculty of Education.

“On the Faculty of Medical Sciences are, Prof. Martin Aghaji, Faculty of the Social Sciences Prof. Daniel Obikeze, Prof. Azuka Dike, Prof. Timothy Nwala and Prof. Emmanuel Chinwokwu,” he said.

He stated that the university had made a very remarkable progress in the areas of academic output, staff promotion, infrastructural development, new research grants and others.

He explained that the Centre for Environmental Management and Control, CEMAC, of the university had been upgraded to a Joint NNPC/ SPDC Joint Venture Centre of Excellence in Environmental Management and Green Energy, CEMAGE.

“This is a very significant and remarkable development that would boost the funding, research output and, invariably the visibility and reputation of the University of Nigeria.

“We are truly grateful to the joint venture partners, Shell Petroleum Company and the NNPC,” he said.

Mr Igwe added that two weeks ago, the Nigerian Communications Commission, NCC, endowed Professorial chair in telecommunications at the University of Nigeria.

He said the endowment, valued at N30 million would boost research and innovation at the University.

Mr Igwe equally thanked Federal Government, friends and alumni of the University for their support and generosity for the university.

The 51st convocation will be held on Saturday at the UNN.



Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.